Choice Eats: Fred’s Place

San Francisco is one of my favorite places to visit. Last time I went was about 5 years ago and I remember the hikes, beach frisbee, and the very yummy french toast I’ve been thinking about ever since. I haven’t found any other place (at least on the East Coast) that serves it this way.

The first full day we had, we made a trip on the ferry to Sausalito. Tourists apparently don’t get out until later in the day so we had the ferry all to ourselves at 7:40 am. (Note to tourists: take the ferry from the San Francisco Ferry Building. It’s several dollars cheaper and less crowded than riding the tourist ferries.) It was a pleasant 20 minute walk from the Sausalito ferry dock to the breakfast place and we enjoyed the beautiful weather and local vegetation (according to my horticulture loving hubby, the fauna and flora we saw in San Fran are native to NZ).

You’ll only see locals at Fred’s (1917 Bridgeway, Sausalito, CA 94965), because it’s farther from the tourist hub. There’s some seating indoors and outdoors and since it was beautiful outside, we decided to sit outside and eat. I ordered what I’d been drooling for, the “Fat Fred”. It’s deep fried french toast. After striking up a conversation with our table neighbor, she explained how her dog loves their eggs and whimpers every time they pass by the place. The dog’s got great taste. The eggs looked and smelled fantastic so we decided to order our french toasts with extras. Hubby ordered a citrus french toast with fried eggs and bacon. Fred's Citrus French Toast I ordered the Fat Fred with egg scramble and maple pecan sausage. (Note: scramble is not scrambled eggs. It’s the way they call their omelets so when I ordered omelet style the waitress corrected me and said “scramble”.) Fred's Fried French Toast

It’s always great to hear some advice from locals. She suggested we walk across the street and down a hill to the Bay Model Visitor Center where my husband I spent close to 3 hours. It’s a great way to walk off the breakfast (indoors) and it’s educational. The best part of the museum? It’s free šŸ™‚ If you happen to drive to Sausalito, the parking is free too.

Leave a comment