Recipe: Indian Curry (Garam Masala)

photo 4(2)I grew up eating “around the world” through restaurants and mom’s cooking. In our home and among many Japanese homes, we don’t cook just Japanese food but other cultural foods as well. One thing I started liking in college was Indian food. I started experimenting with different Indian recipes. I’ve ground my own spices in the past (slightly tedious) and haven’t really found a recipe I’ve liked. My sister recently made a business trip to India and brought back some spices from Mittal Teas. They offer several teas and spices to choose from. This is a great good spice mix saves so much time from grinding my own spices and is a good spice mix.

I chose a spice and with the recipe book that they provide photo 2(2)(which funny enough, is in Japanese), I cooked a chicken curry dish. It’s the yummiest I’ve had in home Indian cooking thus far. It does not yield 6 servings as the recipe states but rather left the 5 of us quite hungry and wanting more (it was that yummy!). In the recipe book, it’s called “Chicken Paprika” which is strange since there is no paprika in the actual dish. The Garam Masala spice has: cumin, ginger, black cardmom, clove, mace, cinnamon, long pepper, nutmeg, cassia and black pepper. It’s described as “a highly flavoury combination of spices”. (I’m not the only one who makes up words!)

They have the recipe on their website, but I’ve doubled the lot, changed some things and have it here for your convenience. Here’s another interesting fact. Online, one of the ingredient is “capsicum”. If I didn’t meet my husband, I would never have known that capsicum is a sweet pepper. The first time he said the word, it was comical. He had to repeat it several times because I kept saying, “pardon?” “wait, say that again?” “huh?” “what?” “can you spell that?”At the end I just laughed and asked him why he couldn’t just say “peppers”. Lost in translation.

Ingredients:
2 lb chicken (we used chicken breast)Garam Masala
2 teaspoons of garlic paste (we substituted this by finely chopping 8 cloves of garlic)
2 onions (diced)
6 tomatoes (diced)
8 teaspoons of Garam Masala
2 chicken bouillon cube
2 cups of heavy cream
2 capsicum (green peppers sliced)

Directions:
1. Heat the pan and pour oil into the pan. Sear the chicken, about 3 minutes on each side. Take the chicken out of the pan onto a chopping board. Lower the heat to low and place the garlic and onion into the same pan for about 5 minutes. As you wait, dice the chicken into slightly larger than bite size pieces. Don’t worry that it’s uncooked on the inside. You’ll be heating it through later.

2. Add the chicken and tomatoes into the pan, bring to a simmer, cover and lower the heat again. Heat for 15 minutes.

3. Add the garam masala into the pan, mix well and cover. Heat for 15 minutes. Add the cream mix well. Add the peppers and cover. Heat for 5 minutes. Then it’s ready to serve!

We served this with some butter basmati rice. Yummy!

Leave a Reply

